Preserving

Long Island's

Rich Railroading

Heritage

Donate to the Engine 39 Restoration Project!

Home    Visiting Us    Exhibitions    Videos    Restoration    Engine 39    Join Us    Greenport Site    Riverhead Site

Contributions    Toy Trains Update    Historic Lionel Layout    Collectible Cars    The Postboy    Documents    Officers   Links   ContactVisiting_Us.htmlExhibitions.htmlVideos.htmlRestoration.htmlEngine_39.htmlJoin_Us.htmlGreenport_Site.htmlRiverhead_Site.htmlContributions.htmlToy_Trains_Update.htmlHistoric_Lionel_Layout.htmlCollectible_Cars.htmlPostboy.htmlDocuments.htmlOfficers.htmlLinks.htmlContact.htmlshapeimage_8_link_0shapeimage_8_link_1shapeimage_8_link_2shapeimage_8_link_3shapeimage_8_link_4shapeimage_8_link_5shapeimage_8_link_6shapeimage_8_link_7shapeimage_8_link_8shapeimage_8_link_9shapeimage_8_link_10shapeimage_8_link_11shapeimage_8_link_12shapeimage_8_link_13shapeimage_8_link_14shapeimage_8_link_15shapeimage_8_link_16shapeimage_8_link_17

Riverhead is Open on

Saturdays and Sundays

10 AM - 4 PM

and

Greenport is Open on

Saturdays and Sundays

11 AM - 4 PM




























Download the Flyer




Spring 2016 Collectible Car

Dual Produce Trailers on Flat Car

LIONEL SKU 6-58555



Graphics may differ slightly from above – track not included, © RMLI 2015
Railroad Museum of Long Island, Collectible Car Program, P.O. Box 307, Southold NY 11971-0307 “Grown on Long Island” logo is used with permission of the Long Island Farm Bureau Inc.

By 1850 the Long Island Rail Road had lost their monopoly on passenger rail service from Brooklyn to Boston. The search was on for the railroad to create revenue streams to remain viable into the 20th Century. Long Island farmers were interested in ways to transport fresh produce to New York City markets and beyond as quickly as possible. In 1884 the LIRR placed farmers’ loaded wagons on flatcars. Fresh fruits and vegetables from Long Island could be at city markets and brokerages the same day they were harvested!


The Railroad Museum of Long Island celebrates America’s First “trailer on flatcar” service with this finely detailed Dual Produce TOFC collectible car built by Lionel.

Production of this Lionel “Traditional O” car, which features die-cast metal trucks and couplers, will be extremely limited to only those who purchase the car in advance. Funds raised from the sale of this car go toward the operation of the Museum, including education/restoration programs, exhibits, collections and the Historic Lionel Layout.

Download an Order Form



“Steam Up LIRR #39”

Wall of Honor as of June 22, 2015

$161,512.00




ALL ABOARD!

Welcome to the Home Page of the Railroad Museum of Long Island, known also as RMLI, (pronounced RimLee). Come, explore the website and take a ride through Long Island railroading history.


Created in 1990, our Mission continues to this day:  “Dedicated to the restoration, preservation and interpretation of the history and artifacts pertaining to the railroads which participated in the growth of Long Island, its communities and industries for the entertainment, edification, and good of present and future generations.”


The Museum maintains facilities at Greenport, L.I., N.Y. and Riverhead, L.I., N.Y. and is officially recognized by the New York State Education Department.  The RMLI serves primarily the communities of Suffolk County.  Our visitors and patrons also come to us from Nassau County, New York City, from across the United States and throughout the World!


The RMLI established itself at Greenport in the historic 1892 freight house of the Long Island Rail Road. “Greenport, (the Eastern terminal of the Long Island Rail Road mainline from Brooklyn since 1844), was the reason for the LIRR.” The approximately 3.4 acres that make up “the yard,” including the passenger station, railroad dock, turntable and the Museum, appear on the New York State and National Registers of Historic Places.  The Museum building has been lovingly restored by our members and volunteers and displays the Museum’s permanent collection of railroad artifacts as well as being host to annually changing exhibits.


The RMLI’s Restoration Site & Visitor’s Center is located on the historic property of the Corwin & Vail Lumber Company and also occupies land that made up the Long Island Rail Road “Riverhead Yard.”   Riverhead, the County Seat of Suffolk County, is at the apex of the North and South Forks of Long Island. Here is where we maintain and exhibit our collection of historic rail cars and locomotives and invite our visitors to “be interactive” with our Museum.  You can ride the Long Island Rail Road miniature park train from the 1964 – 1965 New York World’s Fair, climb inside a 1960’s LIRR caboose, activate the fifty-seven accessories on the Historic Lionel Layout and watch scale model trains operate on two indoor train layouts and one outside garden railway.

   

Although the Museum does not operate an excursion train ride, we are located on the Long Island Rail Road mainline and we encourage our visitors to travel between our two museum sites on the LIRR “Greenport Scoot” on weekends, once each day, from Memorial Day through Columbus Day.  Step back in history on your ride through the North Fork.  Experience a Long Island steeped in agriculture with farm views from your coach window reminiscent of the 1930’s and 40’s.  Tickets are available from your conductor on the train.  Click on our “Visiting Us” link for details.


Now, roam through our website.  See who we are, where we’ve been and what we are doing.  Please “experience Long Island railroading” with a visit to our all-volunteer Museum on a Saturday or Sunday between Memorial Day and Columbus Day weekends, bring the entire family!  Please follow us on Facebook and visit this sight frequently for Museum news and updates.


(Extended Saturday openings: the first Saturday of April through the Saturday before Thanksgiving.  Closed for the season from Thanksgiving through March. Special Holiday Open Houses the first and second weekends of December.)




The Railroad Museum of Long Island, RMLI, the Historic Lionel  Layout, the Railroad Museum of Long Island logo, and the 39 keystone logo are Trademarks of the Railroad Museum of Long Island and may not be used without the written permission of the Railroad Museum of Long Island. Unauthorized use will be prosecuted. Lionel is a Trademark of Lionel LLC, used with permission.